Nice, Riviera, France

After my tranquil week of staying with Solene and Trinidad I headed south on a 5 hour hitchhiked ride to Nice, the main city of the French Riviera, which sits on the Mediterranean shore 40 minutes away from Italy.

Nice is a beautiful city but it is always covered with a thick layer of site devouring tourists scattered amongst the scenery and attractions. I decided to focus a little on them because they are fascinating creatures, and also were blocking my view most of the times.

The Riviera is nothing less than the perfect place to live. Viewing the sea, 1-2 hours away from skiing in the Alpes and wonderful weather nearly all year round. That is why the richest people in the world, probably including most of James bond’s nemeses, control it, live in it and spoil its natural beauty with grandiose real estate. Of course mainly living there in the summer, when the weather is best suited to their liking.

I really enjoyed couch surfing from host to host. I was mainly in Nice but got to visit Menton, Mougins, Cannes and Vallauris. Everyone was so nice, different and taught me and showed me really cool things, like sight seeing, art, local food, how to make taste vinaigrette and play Settlers board game.

 

One thought on “Nice, Riviera, France

Leave a comment